BOOK REVIEW: Room by Emma Donoghue

This Books concept was just so good I had to read it…


SYNOPSIS:

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2010 MAN BOOKER PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2011 ORANGE PRIZE FOR FICTION

Donoghue conceived the story after hearing about five-year-old Felix in the Fritzl case.

Jack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don’t have the key. Jack and Ma are prisoners.

OFFICAL RATINGS:

  • Goodreads 4/5
  • Waterstones 4.5/5
  • Commonsense Media 

MY RATING: 

  • Plot 4/5 I felt towards the end the story was dragged out longer than necessary. Halfway through the book all the action stopped and I enjoyed the first half much better. If  I was rating only the first half I would give it 5 stars.
  • Characters 4/5 As the book is from Jack’s perspective the reader is truly able to understand Jacks primitive emotions. However, that’s also a disadvantage as Jack can’t fully understand everything so some of the information is lacking or tainted. Plus other characters are not fully developed as throughte child voice the detail needed to add dimension is missing. On the other hand if  Jack is the main character, I can live without the rest as he is so diverse.
  • Style 4.5/5 I thoroughly enjoyed this unique approach to haveing a child narrator. Through certain mannerisms like special names given to objects ( but I don’t want to say too much to give away any surprises in the book)

OVERALL RATING 4/5 – A Great read 

I really enjoyed my experience reading this book and getting into the mind of not only a victim but a child. Although at times the childlike lingo could become trying, as you really want Jack to understand certain things straightway to help his situation  which doesn’t awalys  happen – as he is only 5. This does however keep the authenticity of a 5 year old persona as best as an adult could. 

I think this book is definetly worth the read and I look forward to watching the movie ( or was it series?) that came out earlier this year. 

Thanks for reading; let me know in the comments your thoughts on the book review or the book itself. if you’ve read it? How you’ve found it? Whether you would recommend it to a friend? Also if you were satisfied with the ending because I really was not ?
I’m your blogger,

Shashamani 

Leave a Reply

